Following the opening of our new library building the Marjorie Robinson Library Rooms earlier this year, the Robinson Library is now to be known as the Philip Robinson Library.
Philip who was the husband of Marjorie, and his brother Lionel were antiquarian booksellers whose original business premises were in the Grainger Market in Newcastle. A long and enduring connection with the University began in 1924 when the Robinson brothers loaned the University material for an exhibition in King’s Hall.
Throughout Philip’s lifetime he donated generously to the Library and both Philip and Marjorie continued their support through generous legacies. We are proud to be able to honour the generosity of the family through the naming of two of our prominent library buildings.
published on: 25th July 2016